The Board

Board members are responsible for the effective management of natural resources in the Catchment.

About the Board

Board members are drawn from within the region and are appointed by Victoria’s Minister for Water.

Collectively, the Board has extensive experience and knowledge of primary industry, land protection, water resource management, waterway and floodplain management, environmental conservation, local government, food processing, and business and financial management.

Current Board Directors

Helen Reynolds - Chair

For the past 17 years Helen has owned and managed a farming business at Congupna with her partner Craig. The business produces a wide range of irrigated fodder, grains and small seeds and undertakes contracting work and grain drying for other farms.

Helen has an interest in sustainable and profitable private land use and effective management of public land. She believes the greatest challenge facing the catchment is the disconnection of people's lives from nature and food production, while the greatest opportunity is the chance to use water specifically for environmental benefits.

She considers our location as one of our most significant advantages as well as the innovative and committed people in the community involved in agriculture that enriches the catchment.

Adrian Weston - Deputy Chair

Adrian Weston

Adrian, who previously ran a dairy farm,  owns and operates an irrigated prime lamb and cropping farm enterprise at Rushworth.  He is also a Campaspe Shire councillor, representing the Waranga Ward.

Adrian has a long-standing interest in natural resource management and believes the greatest challenge facing the catchment community is balancing the demand for the increased productive use of land (soil) and water resources with protecting and improving the condition of the region’s unique natural environment.

He says the key to  building the catchment’s environmental and social resilience relies on the willingness of business, industry and communities to embrace and adapt to change.

Ron Harris

Ron is an agricultural scientist who is a farmer at Nagambie, supplying a branded grass fed beef program. He has held executive roles in the Department of Agriculture covering agricultural service delivery, natural resource management, biosecurity and emergency response and recovery.

Ron is currently chair of the Victorian Cattle Compensation Advisory Committee which recommends the expenditure of levy funds to the Minister for Agriculture. He is also chair of the Mid Goulburn branch of the Grasslands Society. He has lived in the Goulburn Broken catchment for over 40 years.

Sarah Parker

Sarah holds a Master of Agriculture and Rural Development and has completed the Australian Institute of Company Directors course. She has experience in executive and management roles in agriculture, extension and research as well as community development and education.

Sarah has been a been a partner in an irrigated dairy farm near Undera since 2004. She is involved in Australian Women in Agriculture, National Rural Women's Coalition, Australian Dairy Collective (milk supply group) and the Victorian Farmers Federation.

Sarah is passionate about a sustainable future for agriculture and the environment, enjoys working with variety of stakeholders and is keen to see the next generation become more involved in natural resource management.

Leanne Miller

Leanne is a Dhulanyagen Ulupna woman of the Yorta Yorta people. She is an experienced director with a history of working in government, non-government and social organisations.

She is skilled in governance and leadership in non-profit organisations, corporate social responsibility, program evaluation, conflict resolution and culture change. Leanne is a Senior Atlantic Fellow for Social Equity and works as an Indigenous Workforce Adviser at RMIT.

She has extensive experience advocating for and building opportunities with women in business, including in environmental management and tourism.

Leanne is chair of the Outback Academy, a Victorian Women’s Trust board member, a Victorian Women's Benevolent Trust - Dugdale Trust for Women and Girls trustee, a member of Koorie Women Mean Business and was elected as a North East Member of the First Peoples Assembly of Victoria.

Les McLean

Les is an experienced board director and executive with a strong financial background as CFO with more than 20 years management and leadership experience in the Victorian water industry and health sector. 

Les holds particular expertise in finance (FCPA), governance (GAICD), strategic planning, risk management and stakeholder engagement. 

He is currently a board director of the Port Phillip & Westernport CMA and executive officer of the Natural Resources Conservation League of Victoria and its associated environmental philanthropic trust. 

Amanda McClaren

Amanda is passionate about regional development, community, food and fibre production, youth and their education.

As chair of Regional Development Australia for the Hume Region and an emeritus mayor of Strathbogie Shire, she worked alongside her fellow councillors and community to build flourishing communities in the Strathbogie Shire and wider Hume region.

Having lived on her farm at Graytown for the past 16 years, Amanda and her husband Ian have built a small-scale poultry business supplying their pasture raised chickens to discerning customers throughout Melbourne and regional Victoria.

Jodie Smith

Jodie has worked as an accountant for the past 16 years in the private sector. She holds qualifications in economics, accounting, agriculture and animal science, is a Fellow Certified Practising Accountant (FCPA) and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD).

Jodie maintains an affinity to rural communities, being a board director of Rochester & Elmore District Health Service for the past five years and is a part of an irrigated cropping farm with her partner Nathan, in the catchment area. Jodie has an interest in how we can better maintain our environment and the role that agriculture plays in ensuring our natural resources are maintained for future generations.