2015 Natural Resource Management Efforts Recognised

Groups and individuals improving environmental health in the Goulburn Broken Catchment were recognised at the 2015 Goulburn Broken Community Natural Resource Management (NRM) Awards on June 19.

Goulburn Broken Catchment Management Authority (CMA) CEO Chris Norman said the annual awards recognised the outstanding efforts of the community in volunteering their time (a total of over 50,000 hours in 2013/14) to protect and enhance the Catchment’s waterways, land, biodiversity and community knowledge. 

“Congratulations to all the winners and to everyone nominated for these awards,” Mr Norman said. 

“The Goulburn Broken CMA relies on landholders, school children, Landcare groups, Conservation Management Networks and individuals to deliver programs across the Catchment that improve the health of our rivers and creeks, protect and improve habitat for native animals and plants, recognise the region’s cultural heritage and bring about practice change in sustainable agriculture.  Efforts to boost the Catchment’s resilience leads to increasingly productive landscapes that will support the long-term viability of our communities in the face of constant change.” 

The winners of the six awards were: 

  • Hubert Miller Perpetual Award - Kerri Robson. Presented by Jane Miller and Goulburn Broken CMA Chair Murray Chapman. 
  • Junior Landcare Team Award - Yea High School Junior Landcare Group. Presented by Murrindindi Shire Council Mayor Cr Margaret Rae. 
  • Community NRM Network Award - Strathbogie Ranges Conservation Management Network. Presented by Rod Taylor, Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning 
  • Community NRM Group Award - Yea Wetland Committee of Management. Presented by Terry Hubbard, Chairperson of the Victorian Landcare Council 
  • Community NRM Sustainable Farming Award – Glenn Thompson, Wyuna Landcare Group. Presented by Craig Madden, Victorian Catchment Management Council 
  • Recognition of Long-term Community Partnership Award – Gary Deayton, Moira Shire Council.  Presented by Chris Norman CEO Goulburn Broken CMA. 

Goulburn Broken CMA Manager Landcare and Communities, Tony Kubeil applauded the high quality of nominations received for the awards and thanked the volunteers who were nominated by community members for service they have provided to groups and networks.

“Each nomination shows the strong commitment to improving public and private land for the benefit of the local community and Victoria as a whole,” he said. 

“The number of excellent nominations shows that community natural resource management is thriving in the Goulburn Broken Catchment.” 

 Sixty three volunteers were also recognised for 5 – 25 years of service to community Natural Resource Management. 

“The NRM Awards night was the perfect opportunity to recognise volunteers for the service they have provided to this Catchment over many years,” Mr Kubeil said.  

“Erica Lowing from the Fords Creek, Delatite Landcare Group and Allan Stute from the Sunday Creek Dry Creek Landcare Group deserve a special mention for 25 years of service to their respective Landcare Groups.”   

Winners of the Goulburn Broken Natural Resource Management Awards will now be put forward for inclusion in the Victorian Landcare Awards to be held on the 31st August at Government House.  

Left to Right, Back to Front:  Russell Pell, Earle Phillips, Jenny Phillips, Jo Dooland Glenn Thompson

The Goulburn Broken CMA acknowledges and respects First Nations people and the deep connection they have with their land and waters.

We acknowledge the Yorta Yorta and Taungurung people and their ancestors/forbears as Traditional Owners of the land and waters in the Goulburn Broken Catchment (and beyond). We value our ongoing partnerships with Yorta Yorta Nation Aboriginal Corporation and Taungurung Land and Waters Council for the health of Country and its people.

We pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging and acknowledge and recognise the primacy of Traditional Owners obligations, rights and responsibilities to use and care for their traditional lands and waters.

168 Welsford Street, PO Box 1752, Shepparton VIC 3630
T (03) 5822 7700
F (03) 5831 6254

89 Sydney Road, PO Box 124, Benalla VIC 3672
T (03) 5822 7700

Shop 5/10 High Street, Yea VIC 3717
T (03) 5822 7700