Scholarship winner - Fairley Leadership Program

Wednesday 20 March, 2019
Dairy research scientist Yvette Williams has been named the recipient of the Ken Sampson Fairley Leadership Memorial Scholarship.

The scholarship was established by the Goulburn Broken Catchment Management Authority (GB CMA) in honour of colleague, Ken Sampson, who died suddenly in 2009.

Ms Williams, who works with Agriculture Victoria, said she was delighted to be chosen as the scholarship recipient.

“I’ve wanted to do the Fairley Leadership Program for a long time because I know quite a few people who’ve completed it and they all said it was a wonderful experience,” Ms Williams said.

The research scientist, who has completed a PhD into the digestion of pastures by grazing dairy cows, said she hoped to develop the skills to contribute more confidently to the number of community groups in which she’s involved.

GB CMA chair Adrian Weston said Ms Williams was a worthy recipient of the scholarship.

“We’ll watch Yvette’s future achievements with great interest,” Mr Weston said.

The Fairley Leadership Program has produced more than 500 graduates since its inception 25 years ago.

The GB CMA has been a long-time supporter of the program, which is designed to develop new community leaders throughout the Goulburn Murray region.