Local horticulture leader awarded

Monday 20 February, 2012
Ken Sampson Memorial Scholarship awarded to Liz Mann

Ken Sampson Memorial Scholarship awarded to Liz Mann

The Goulburn Broken Catchment Management Authority (CMA) is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2012 Ken Sampson Memorial Scholarship for the Fairley Leadership Program is Liz Mann, the Industry Development Manager with the Australian Processing Tomato Research Council.

The Goulburn Broken CMA has been a longtime supporter of the Fairley Community Leadership Program. In 2010, the CMA established the Ken Sampson Fairley Leadership Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship honours former Goulburn Broken CMA employee and community leader Ken Sampson’s contributions to Natural Resource Management and community participation and leadership during a career spanning more than 30 years.

“Ken was a solid believer in the strength of community and what people could achieve together. His passion for and understanding of natural resource management was a strength of which his co-workers were fortunate beneficiaries” explains Mr Peter Ryan Chair of the Goulburn Broken CMA

“We award the scholarship to a participant in the Fairley Leadership Program who demonstrates passion, initiative and a strong track record in the area of natural resource management” continued Mr Ryan.

Award recipient, Liz Mann from Katandra West has a strong background in agriculture in the Goulburn Valley. Liz has a Bachelor of Agricultural Science and Graduate Diploma in Agricultural Management and Extension. Liz has participated in the Australian Wheat Board Young Leader Course in 2004, and has been a member of the National Women in Horticulture Board and Agfest organizing committee. Liz has worked in a range of roles within the agriculture and production areas including Apple and Pear Australia, Fruit Growers Victoria and currently is the Industry Development Manager with the Australian Processing Tomato Research Council.

“We are delighted to support Liz in her leadership journey and hope the networks and knowledge which comes from participation in the Fairley Program helps Liz in the achievement of her vision for the Goulburn Murray region.

“Liz believes in the region being ‘a strong vibrant agricultural community that will be producing an increasing volume of food using water efficiently and providing significant employment’ which also supports the Goulburn Broken Catchment Management Authority’s vision of – ‘Healthy, Resilient and Productive Landscapes Supporting Vibrant Communities’” says Mr Ryan.


Ken Sampson Memorial Scholarship award winner, Liz Mann.

Photo: Amanda McClaren Goulburn Broken CMA


L-R, Goulburn Broken CMA CEO, Mr Chris Norman, Goulburn Broken CMA Chair, Mr Peter Ryan, 2012 Ken Sampson Memorial Fairley Scholarship recipient, Ms Liz Mann and Fairley Leadership Program Executive Director, Mr Patrick Turner.

Photo: Amanda McClaren Goulburn Broken CMA


For further information please contact:
Amanda McClaren, Communications and Marketing Manager
t: 03 5820 1117 m: 0459 023 640 e:

The Goulburn Broken CMA acknowledges and respects First Nations people and the deep connection they have with their land and waters.

We acknowledge the Yorta Yorta and Taungurung people and their ancestors/forbears as Traditional Owners of the land and waters in the Goulburn Broken Catchment (and beyond). We value our ongoing partnerships with Yorta Yorta Nation Aboriginal Corporation and Taungurung Land and Waters Council for the health of Country and its people.

We pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging and acknowledge and recognise the primacy of Traditional Owners obligations, rights and responsibilities to use and care for their traditional lands and waters.

168 Welsford Street, PO Box 1752, Shepparton VIC 3630
T (03) 5822 7700
F (03) 5831 6254

89 Sydney Road, PO Box 124, Benalla VIC 3672
T (03) 5822 7700

Shop 5/10 High Street, Yea VIC 3717
T (03) 5822 7700

Back to top