Call for environmental nominations

Tuesday 14 June, 2005
Nominations are currently being sought for two high profile awards in the Upper Goulburn catchment.

Nominations are currently being sought for two high profile awards in the Upper Goulburn catchment.

The Upper Goulburn Landcare Award for Excellence and the Hubert Miller Perpetual Trophy are awarded each year at the annual Upper Goulburn Implementation Committee community meeting, to be held in August.

There are many people in Landcare all over Australia who work tirelessly for their group and the community, and the Landcare Award for Excellence 2005 will be awarded to a Landcare member who has demonstrated a commitment to the Landcare ethic and has been constant in support of their Landcare group.

Poppê Davis from the Goulburn Broken CMA said “We want to recognize environmental high achievers.”

“People in communities who quietly involve themselves in natural resource management and protection programs, deserve to be thanked for their hard work.” Poppê said.

The winner of the Upper Goulburn Landcare Award for Excellence will be awarded a certificate plus a night for two at the Hotel Sofitel Melbourne, with dinner and valet parking – a fine award to recognize dedication to Landcare.

Nominations are also invited for the fourth Hubert Miller Perpetual Trophy, which will be awarded in August.

The award’s aim is to recognise a member of the community who has shown outstanding commitment to community engagement and who has encouraged practical land management in the upper Goulburn region.

The Award is bestowed through the Upper Goulburn Implementation Committee (UGIC) in honour of Hubert Miller OAM, who has worked for years to improve natural resources management and served on several environmental committees including the UGIC.

Nominations are encouraged from all sectors of the community and all nominees will be publicly recognized at the award presentation.

Nominations close on June 30th, with forms and further information available from the Goulburn Broken CMA office in Yea. Please call 5797 2001.


14th June 2005

Contact: Poppê Davis

Dryland Community Liaison Officer

Goulburn Broken Catchment Management Authority

Ph1: 5797 2001 Ph2: 5761 1540

Mob: 0427 866 328 (anytime)


The Goulburn Broken CMA acknowledges and respects First Nations people and the deep connection they have with their land and waters.

We acknowledge the Yorta Yorta and Taungurung people and their ancestors/forbears as Traditional Owners of the land and waters in the Goulburn Broken Catchment (and beyond). We value our ongoing partnerships with Yorta Yorta Nation Aboriginal Corporation and Taungurung Land and Waters Council for the health of Country and its people.

We pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging and acknowledge and recognise the primacy of Traditional Owners obligations, rights and responsibilities to use and care for their traditional lands and waters.

168 Welsford Street, PO Box 1752, Shepparton VIC 3630
T (03) 5822 7700
F (03) 5831 6254

89 Sydney Road, PO Box 124, Benalla VIC 3672
T (03) 5822 7700

Shop 5/10 High Street, Yea VIC 3717
T (03) 5822 7700

Back to top